Absolute newbie looking for some step by step guidance, please and thank you

Unlike most people who find this site, I have absolutely no idea what a start point is, or would be. I worked on some data mining projects during my MBA and find myself fascinated with data analysis and visualization. The down side is that I have no idea where to start. I do have some medical issues and need a hands-on project to grasp the “big data” concept, and quantified self seemed like a great first step.

Here is where I need help:

• Where do I start, as in exactly (how do I record basic data, such as my GPS history via iPhone, access it and then visualize/manipulate it).
  • I’ve realized that I will have to learn some programming language(s), but I’m not sure which ones to go with to focus strictly on data mining and analysis, and then visualization. I plan to use my eventual skills in the business world by helping interpret data, visualize it, and hopefully give me insight that my peer’s and/or competitors would not have.
  • I spent the previous 10 years in the military, so I have the education and knowledge of a pre-K student. For example, I read in a couple of books and websites to pursue Python, but after trying to “begin” I can’t figure out how to make the text I’m writing (coding) ‘work’ (compiling???).
  • Finally, I understand that a TON of data is available and there is this mysterious “API” that somehow queries for the data, but I still don’t know where that fits in. So, do I create a website or use a MySQL server (I don’t know how to do that either), and how do I create applications or API’s (whatever it would be called) to query information and store it on my server, and then, how do I physically analyze the data and visually represent it?