Five years of weight tracking

In June I charted my last five years of weight tracking:

I have been tracking my weight since the summer of 2008. First manually and later using the Withings scale. The R code to generate the chart can found at my blog.

Interesting! I’m curious if the correlation between your weight and fat % has changed over time or seasonally?

I’ve been recording my body weight for just a year now, but noticed that this correlation appears to be strong in summer) but weak in winter). I have this suspicion that I’m measuring dehydration, not fat :slight_smile:

Hi,
this is nicely done.
Its also interesting to see, that you gained more weight after stopping cycling then you had before. Did you change diet and habits? Did you continue to eat as much as you did during cycling period?

That would be interesting to know.

Jochen

I wish I had this rich of a data set! I’m curious how you all do retrospective weight tracking if you haven’t kept a log like Tafkas (sorry don’t know your full name)? Do you have a rough sense for the weight and can ascribe it to a given month? It seems like whenever I take my weight it is through a mental note.

Qualitatively I’ve been using my own facial image as a way of determining relative BMI / body fat percentage. While imperfect, there has been some published research showing that this link is possible (face image to BMI) through machine vision and careful training of ML models.

I gave a presentation on the topic at the last New York Quantified Self show & tell, happy to share if anyone is interested, happy to share early prototypes and the deck (video should be up in the next month or so). Starting to develop this into a more complete product, more information here - http://www.enfluence.io/

• Shawn