Tracking how I spend my time

Hi! I’m looking for a good app to track how I spend my time.

Some features I would like

(1) I want to be able to create categories and subcategories. For example, I want to be able to track how much time I spend studying and how much time I spend working on my job and also how much time I spend generally being productive with “being productive” including the combined amount of time I spend studying and working on my job.

(2) Tools to spot trends and important metrics: For example, the average # of hours I was productive/day in a given week or month; graphs showing me the rate at which my productivity has been changing; a pie chart showing me how much time I spend being productive relative to other activities; etc.

I have been using timeular for a couple of years.

App is good - but I especially like the physical tracker I can have on desk. Very low friction for tracking.
Support is excellent.
Unfortunately they went the subscription way a while ago - but still this is one of the few companies where they made a good case for switch that was not just greed.

They have pie charts - I also like that :slight_smile:

Probably any of the time-tracking apps used by lawyers and other professionals who charge clients by the hour would work.

One aspect that I have not seen in any such app is a way to track using the app itself. This might affect your productivity as all apps presume productiveness because clients billed.

Something else to consider is how easy is it to extract the data recorded. The time to do that also needs to be explictily added to the data and will therefore affect your productivity.