Advancing Citizens Science: Webinar Series

I am new to this Board and hope to have the opportunity to interact with you all in the near future. My name is Andrew Ahn, and I am an internal medicine physician with a background in physics/engineering and physiological signal analyses. I am an Assistant Professor in Medicine & Radiology at Harvard Medical School - and was the Lead Medical Advisor for the Runner-up Winner (Team Dynamical Biomarkers) for the $10M Qualcomm-XPRIZE Tricorder competition.

We quickly realized through our Tricorder work that full access/control of wearable data continues to a major challenge (as many have alluded to on this Forum). In response, a group of us started a non-profit organization called PhysioQ (https://physioq.org) - a non-profit organization that focuses on empowering citizens to pursue health-sciences through full access/control of their own physiological data - often obtained through wearable devices - and through enhanced analytical skills and physiological knowledge. We have partnered with companies like Garmin to make raw data available to users.

Our mission is to make health research accessible to anyone. Part of this endeavor is to educate motivated individuals. Consequently, we are planning a Webinar series that help researchers address major technical barriers, understand human physiology, and explore various analytical approaches. This will start off with more basic topics - some of which may be rudimentary to you - but we anticipate the topics would increase in sophistication and depth over time.

Our first Webinar is entitled “Understanding Garmin Wearable Data”, tomorrow Friday (7/16/21) at 10:30-11:30 AM EST. It will be a Live-session with time for Q&A.

PhysioQ Live Webinar

Looking forward to seeing you,

Andrew

2 Likes

Hi Andrew,