Aerobic Fitness Blood Test

Hey Guys and Gals,

I am new to the whole QS movement. I have just started to get back into working out and running. Are there are any markers of overall aerobic fitness that I can have done in a blood test? I am not thinking of lactate thresholds/V02 max but something that I could get done by my doctor or at Qwest.

I want to be able to track now and months from now to see how I am doing.

Thanks,

I’m not aware of a convenient marker for aerobic fitness, unless you are talking about this :wink:

urine amino acid test can tell about aerobic fitness. It is usually done to detect metabolic disorders that lead to increased amino acid levels. Reduced excretion of amino acids, on the other hand, is associated with increased aerobic fitness levels.

Blood and urine metabolites related to energy production could be also used as indicators of recovery after intense exercise.

Biomarker that Segterra found affect athletic performance include iron levels and Vitamin D

You can get a pretty detailed blood panel with their InsideTracker service, which uses QuestDiagnostics. I reviewed insideTracker twice; PM me for a discount code for QSers if interested.

Hi,

I’ve not used these but here are:

https://www.dnafit.com/fitness/

23andme says about me that:
George, your fast-twitch muscle fibers likely do not have the alpha-actinin-3 protein.
Not sprinter/power muscle type

Personally the best bang for my buck has been to use TRIMP / Coggan models that underlie TrainingPeaks and 2Peak (I use 2Peak). I am also using another mathematical model of my fitness Xertonline.

These tools model your fitness / recovery and guide you through periodization of your training. For endurance athletes management of Training Load (stress) and recovery is key to fitness (Super compensation Principle, Overload Principle).