Buying a Zeo on eBay

I’m new to sleep tracking and want to get the best device possible. I’ve tried using my iPhone and other wrist-based trackers before, but was not satisfied with their accuracy. Reading this forum, Zeo appears to be the best option, though the company went out of business several years ago.

Does it still make sense to buy a Zeo on eBay? If so:

1. Which version should I get (mobile or bedside)?
  2. Are the sensors still easy to replace (parts/materials readily available, etc.)?

Otherwise, what are my other options? I’ve heard of NeuroOn, Sleep Shepherd Blue, etc. as similar devices with EEG capability, but reviews on those are quite critical.

Hi zeakian,

Could you share more of your feedback regarding the sleep trackers you used?
How did you assess their accuracy and what sleep parameters are you interested in?

Have you considered ŌURA? ouraring.com

You know, the thing about sleep tracking is that wearing something every night gets old fast. I think the retention averages 45 days or something like that. If you have money, and you need a new bed anyway, I’d suggest a Sleep Number bed as they now have SleepIQ technology. You get all sorts of tracking and its just built in so its all automatic. It’s also something you can easily continue your entire life for no effort where most of the other things fall into gadget territory. They break, burn out, etc. Anyway, my two cents.

If you choose to go the Zeo route, they still work and are useful. Which to choose (Alarm vs Mobile) depends on what you want to do with your gathered data.

• Using the Alarm version, you’ll have to move your data “manually” via sdcard (or possibly a serial port) to a computer to use the data; the Alarm model has limited analytics on the clock itself. However, the Alarm version offers real-time data via the serial port, including access to the actual digitized waveform, which has allowed some to do some add-ons to the Alarm for lucid dreaming applications.