Cheapskate ketosis?

tldr; I’m looking for an easy, inexpensive product to estimate my ketone levels in a pilot study.

I’ve been eating a low-carbohydrate diet for a couple of years now and in a recent diet audit (using MyFitnessPal) I found that fat constituted around 70% of my caloric intake. Given that most of the remaining calories come from protein, I would expect to find myself somewhere on the beginning of the “keto-spectrum.” Recently, I’ve become interested in quantifying my ketone levels.

Given that the overly-recommended Precision Xtra is quite an investment, I’m looking for alternative options for my pilot study. As far as I am aware, the cheapest method is urine test strips. But it’s a saturated market.

From those of you experienced in this domain, which strips would you recommend and why? I’m looking for something inexpensive, (at least remotely) accurate, and widely available.

Thanks in advance and happy tracking,

Luca

1 Like

@QuantifiedBob says “Precision Xtra glucose/ketone meter or Keto Mojo cost just $1-$2 per test strip” But I think you want something 1/10 that price, yes?

Unfortunately, you aren’t going to find any reliable blood glucose meters/strips for less. But something important to point out is that there are several ways to measure ketones (blood, urine, breath), which all provide some insights about ketones in the body, but are not the same!

1. Blood - this is the best (and most expensive) way to measure ketones in the body, via a ketone meter and test strips (or can be obtained via blood test). It looks at β-hydroxybutyrate (BhB). Precision Xtra and Keto Mojo are popular devices being used.

2. Breath - this looks at acetoacetate in the breath, using a device such as Ketonix or LEVL. There is a non-linear relationship between acetoacetate levels in the breath and BhB, so there is some calibration required and breath testing is less accurate.