Continuous ECG & PPG Monitoring Wearable

Hello QS,

My name is Justin and I am an engineer for a health technology startup in the UK. We are working on a few digital health solutions which naturally involve a lot of research. For a particular research project we realised we required a convenient manner in which to collect ECG and PPG signals. This lead to developing a device to resolve the requirements of data collection. We now have a wearable datalogger that can capture ECG, PPG and a 9 DOF IMU all embedded with Wi-Fi and BLE. We also added an extra I2C port for additional sensing possibilities. It has been working really well for us as it is synced up to our internal metadata service which allows quick access to clean, long term physiological data for analysis and insights.

I have come here to find out if anyone has any experience in these types of signals and/ or would be interested in continuous monitoring of this nature. We would really appreciate any feedback and are keen to learn about possible use cases for a potential product that could be developed.

Warm regards,

Justin

Hi Justin,

Thank you for posting this here. The short answer is: yes.

If you browse around in the forum you will see some very good discussions of projects using ECK data. For QS projects, the PPG signal is most frequently encountered in blood oximetry and HR detection. I haven’t seen the signal used for other purposes but others may know more.

An unsolved problem, as far as I know as a user of some of these devices is that while HR and related data types, like HRV and RHR, are available in convenient export formats for analysis, full ECG signals generally are not. Common devices, such as the Kardia that I own, only provide visual representation and PDF export. I’m about the try the Zio patch and as far as I can tell this also only provides PDF reports.

Can you say more about your device?