Data capture during my PhD

Not sure if this is the right place, but I’m starting my PhD next week and want to somehow capture my life. Planning on doing a 1 sec video a day, but someone also recommended using a Google form + daily reminder to fill in items like my weight, coffee consumed, or if I spoke to my advisor that day. As people who can likely make the best use of this data, what fields should I populate this Google form with? Are there other (less invasive) means of capturing this data? what parameters of someone’s life would you want to see plotted throughout 4 years?

Hi, I’m doing my PHD as well. To be honest, I’ve tried spreadsheet style recording techniques, but give them up so quickly. At the end I only use mobile apps to record my sleep cycle, steps , and diet information. The majority of them collect data automatically. As per my work schedule, Google calendar is fine…

It’s a very personal interest but I would suggest to record your sleep as extensively as possible (the gold standard would be video and EEG recording).
Video is easily feasible (I have recorded over 1,300 of my nights), the time killer being analyzing the data.

• General activity levels and sleep times (e.g. via Fitbit).
  • Daily weight measurements (e.g. via Withings).
  • Time spent working/playing on your computer (e.g. via RescueTime).
  • How much time you spent at different places like coffee shops or at the gym (e.g. via Moves).
  • Meal times, coffee consumption etc (via Nomie, or any other data logging app).

Two useful measures I’ve seen in more than 1 QS talk:

• Simple self-assessment of mood at same time daily. (Usually one number, on any reasonable scale, from 1-3 to 1-100.)
  • Simple self-assessment of sleep quality (restedness), also on any reasonable scale.

Great input!

@ Luke
-This is an amazing amount of data you already collected I believe I will only use my fitbit for sleep times

@ejain
-I will use fitbit for activity, sleep, and weight.