Does it make sense to put QS data on a blockchain?

I have been a researcher and builder in web3 for many years and have also been an early adopter of wearables. I also firmly believe that the killer app for web3 will be focused on the QS movement, combining elements of AI, Web3 and QS tools.

So, I have been trying to figure out if it makes sense to put QS data on a blockchain, all with goals of achieving hyper personalization and redistributing some of the value chain.

IMO, we should put QS data on chain. Here are a few key points:

1. Data Ownership - Not your keys, not your coins is a phrase often said by the web3 community. But, this phrase can also extend to - “Not your keys, not your data” … In web2, we don’t actually own our data, even though we might have access to it and have legal disclaimers that prevent the misuse of our data. So, if we truly care to own and control our data, the ownership features of blockchains make the most sense to me.

2. Data exchange - there needs to be a better way to exchange our data, with greater transparency and value exchange. We currently lack data exchange standards and blockchains seem to offer a better solution to have unified standards.

3. Crowd sourcing and governing large models - there is a web3 project called Numerai that is doing this for finance. I assume a similar model could also be useful to do this for QS data. This of course will require new thinking, but nonetheless blockchain can offer greater governance over models and transparency into how models are using our data.

Understanding the biggest barriers in putting QS data on chain are privacy, cost of storage and speed, I do think these issues will be solved and in fact are being solved.

While these are just some ideas, I would love to hear from the community and have a meaningful conversation. Does blockchain make sense to put QS data on chain?

1 Like

Very much makes sense!