Electronic medical records and habit change

i am a family doctor, i work in a private clinic in a small town where i manage my patients in the office and the hospital, i love technology. like most doctors these days working with my patients to change habits, set goals, increase awareness, etc is very difficult. i encourage my patients to read about QS, to explore patient’s like me, etc. the problem on my end is that the software i use does not support goal sharing. it barely even supports file sharing. i’ve searched the forums here about working with doctors, but have found very little actual technical information on how working with shared databases has helped the doctor patient unit effect goal and habit change. have any of you found better ways than others? when my patients come to me with data collected it is not always immediate how they organize their data. simple quantitative data is not bad, and some of my engineers patient’s will generate some stats on their data set, always appreciated. but some information is spacial, or involves text strings, or images. thoughts? experiences? hopes?

Hi Jim

Your question is a good one but a hard one, because I don’t think a general solution, or even general best practices, exist yet. However, there are some really excellent docs in the QS community who are exploring what works with their own patients. For instance, Paul Abramson of My Doctor Medical Group(http://quantdoctor.com/tag/quant-doctor/) has given some excellent talks at QS meetings about using data in his practice.

I don’t think we ended up posting any of them in the main section of the Quantified Self website, where we focus more on personal stories, but I found one from 2011 in the vimeo group, and give it a URL on quantifiedself.com so you could find it easily:

Paul Abramson on Quantified Self in Medical Practice

I hope this is a useful start. I will tweet Paul to let him know we’re having this discussion.

Hello Jim, Gary & Others,