Embodyment of data

I am a researcher of design theory and philosophy of technology in Japan. This is my first post. I am interested in investigating the possibility that vital data can be internalized and embodied by technologies of the quantified self.
For example, as a result of taking the temperatures of my three children daily for covid-19, the temperatures taken by my hands became more accurate than the readings on the thermometer. I can tell the numbers from the warmth I feel in my hands. If you know of any previous research on such internalization or embodiment of quantified data, please let me know.

1 Like

This is an excellent topic. I’m not surprised by what you report about your own experience of embodied knowledge. I’ve heard other people describe this effect and I’ve experienced it too. For instance, I tracked my tremor using a somewhat elaborate process using the accelerometer on my phone and an analytical notebook that reported the strength of the tremor based on vibrations within a certain frequency range. I also recorded a subjective “tremory” score that reflected my subjective sense of vulnerability to tremor. Over time, I was able to assess my own vulnerability to tremor more accurately. I believe this is an example of learning/training my judgment based on feedback. I think it would be hard to use my existing data as evidence for the effect you’re studying, my records aren’t very well organized. But it strikes me as possible to research this through direct experimentation, and I’d be glad to participate if that’s the approach you decide to take.

Thank you very much. I am very happy to hear that.In Japan, there is no community of quantified self, so I’m happy to be able to discuss things like this. Your example of tremor is also very interesting.