Going from lurking to interacting ;)

hi peeps,
i’ve been reading/observing various threads for awhile now - and am finally getting around to introducing myself and committing myself to being more proactive member of this exciting community.

i’m a product designer/UI designer/creative director who’s been around the high tech industry for A LONG time ;0 I have had a few funded companies, but none that amounted to much in the end. Money has never been my motivating force - change is, and the QS movement optimizes so much that interests me. I feel like we’re on the brink of a humanistic renaissance, thanks to QS and technology.

i’ve been playing around making prototypes that involve a ‘lean back’ QS approach to mood observation/manipulation through short format video clips…and playing with concepts of how we can create triggers that prompt immediate action with enthusiastic opt-in behavior. A big challenge that i’m determined to explore. my personal site is at http://www.arielmcnichol.com

i’m currently reading Hooked http://www.amazon.com/Hooked-How-Build-Habit-Forming-Products-ebook/dp/B00HJ4A43S after a week long bath in Dr BJ Higgs and tiny habits.

i’m from California, with long stints both in the SV/SF and LA. Right now i’m in argentina until late August with my 2 kids and professor husband who’s on sabbatical from UCLA.

Hey Ariel! Pleased to meet you. Highly cool stuff. Nice website, will show Jack Andraka’s TED talk to the kids

Hooked looks neat too. Thanks for sharing!
Dave

Thanks for the welcome Dave!

Welcome Ari!

The Mood Project looks interesting. My girlfriend is obsessed with ASMR videos on YouTube and they are a big trigger for relaxation. It is interesting to see the type of videos you’ve already profiled for each “Moodstream” @ mood-project.com.

How do you curate the videos? Are you planning on creating any yourself, or just using ones that already exist?

Hi Dave!