Have you ever built your own wearable self-tracking device?

Hi All!

I am a PhD student at the Design Dept. - Politecnico di Milano, my research focuses on Self-tracking Wearables design processes informed by Philosophy of Technology approaches.

Last year I started tracking myself using an activity tracker (Garmin wristband) and an attention training headband (Interaxon Muse 2). I analysed the way I related to these devices and how this relationship influenced my self-perception. I am willing to share some thoughts with both amateur and expert self-trackers from this amazing community who built by themselves their devices to support the practice.

I am willing to find volunteers to share their experience in a 30-min interview.
If you can help me and are interested to take part in my research, please answer below! Or contact me at chiara.dilodovico@polimi.it.

Thank you very much in advance for your help :heart:
Any answer will be very appreciated :slight_smile:
Chiara

Hi Chiara,
Are looking to both share what you’ve learned, and to learn from us? Thanks
Brian

Hi Brian,

Thank you very much for raising this point! Let me explain :slight_smile:

Being a design researcher, my interest is to support designers in developing wearable technologies being aware of opportunities, limits and challenges. From March 2020 I started getting interested in wearable technologies used to carry out self-tracking practices: from biosignals and performance monitoring to self-discovery through reflection and patterns identification.

As a researcher, I firstly wanted to directly experience the effects of interacting with wearables able to track and interpret data coming from my own body. So I bought two diverse wearables to experiment:

• the activity tracker smartband “vivosmart 4 by Garmin”

• the EEG-powered brain-sensing headband “Muse S by Interaxon”.