Hello! Seeking advice on the best way to analyse a collection of text files

Hi there. Long time forum lurker (signed up in 2012, but this is my first post). I currently track activity with an UP24, and I’ve been tracking my schedule to varying degrees of precision using iCal/Calendar. I also use Moves, and I really want to build a Reporter.app habit, but I fell off the wagon a few weeks in.

I’m a writer, primarily, and I tend to track my thoughts in logs and journals— plain text files, often prefixed with specific keywords (journal, workout log, task_archive etc). I’m wondering if there’s some way of extracting some value from these files. Each file is prefixed with a timestamp, so it shouldn’t be too easy to fit them into a chronology. I’m wondering how I might go about tracking instances of specific keywords (or even significantly occurring words within the bodies of text over time?) and visualising that in some way?

Does anyone have any leads for text analysis tools or apps that might be useful for me here?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Thinking further on this. As I explain in the first post, having experimented with a range of other tracking tools, I’ve found it easiest to log the things I want to observe/report on in text files. My workflow:

• fire up NVAlt (OSX) or 1Writer (iOS). 1Writer automatically names new files with a timestamp. In NVAlt I use a text snippet to achieve the same.
  • first line: hashtag to categorise the log (e.g. #journal, #ate, #draft, #workout)
  • enter appropriate content, and done.

I’m trying to figure out whether I can extract the following from my current logging practise:

• productivity (1): I’m a writer, among other things. Productivity in my case could be tracked by counting the number of files created within a certain folder against each day/date. If I could break that down to report against specific hashtags (contained on the first line of every document), that would be a bonus.