Hi, I'm Alex. A few questions

Hello,

I’m Alex. My interest in QS comes from my desire to be healthier and more productive. I have this vision where eventually I can manage my time so effectively that I’m productive and I’m making progress in my hobbies and interests. I’m a software engineer in downtown Chicago working at an ed-tech startup. I’m excited to learn more about quantified self and to hopefully give back to this community!

I just started tracking myself recently (steps, sleep, exercise, etc.) and I’ve been thinking about a few questions for the more experienced quantified self-ers:

1. How many things do you track manually vs automatically? Like tracking your mood vs. tracking your steps with a FitBit.
  2. How do you track manually? Google forms/sheets, another app, or pen & paper?
  3. Do you get more value out of tracking or analyzing your data?

I enjoy tracking because it makes me feel like I’m taking the right steps. But I feel like I could get more out of my data if I tried analyzing more of it. I don’t necessarily know what insights I’m looking for, but I’m hoping even some basic visualizations will help.

Thanks,

Alex

1 Like

I use AskMeEvery to track manually track some daily data (I also run the site :slight_smile:). I track things like “what did I accomplish today?” and “what are my goals for tomorrow?” but it’s also great at tracking numerical data as well.

It’ll auto-parse the number data and graph the responses. I can also download my data as csv and graph it or process it in Numbers or Excel.

Hey Adam,

That’s awesome! I really like the idea of receiving reminders to track manual data. I saw that your site sends emails to do this. Have you ever thought about sending text messages instead?

Also, how do you decide what graphs will be useful? That’s what I’ve been struggling with. I feel like plotting my data over time is a good start, but I’m wondering if I can do more.