Hi. I'm Josh

Hi. I’m Josh. Really glad I have stumbled upon this place. Looks like there are a fair few with the same interests as mine.

A bit about me
I’m into bodybuilding, fitness, biomedical sciences (mainly pharmacology) and IT which I have been doing for a few decades, and more recently into biometrics. Generally interested in a no-limits, experimental approach to exploring what my body can do, and how it reacts to various stimulus.

My devices are:
[list]
[]Suunto memory belt ( 24/7 HR logging, RR Interval variability, substrate utilization, EPOC, etc)
[
]Suunto t3c
[]BodyFitMedia core (I colloquially refer to this as my bodybugg)
[
]Tanita BC545N segmental body composition scanner ( weighing scales with bio impedance )
[]Variety of cameras ( mainly for video analysis )
[
]Accelerometers (use these for various classification of activity & measuring movement parameters)
[]Kinovea (video analysis software for analysis of movement)
[
]Firstbeat ( analysis of suunto data, estimation of recovery status, etc).
[]iPhone ( GPS logging, as well as manual activity classification, food logging etc )
[
]Measuring tape, calipers, etc.
[/list]

Current work:
[list]
[]My current goal is trying to automate the analysis process as much as possible, and to pull all of the low level data together.
[
]Getting devices to talk seamlessly would be nice, but I do not hold out much hope for that at the moment.
[]I am also trying to resolve some of the discrepancies in inferences made by different devices eg( energy expenditure from the suunto and bodybugg ).
[
]I like to get as much of my key indicator data in real time, or with quite a tight turnaround (from data capture to display), so I can act on it. I am not there yet with it, but gradually inching closer.
[/list]

I look forward to talking & learning from you all in the future, and especially if anyone has similar kit, hacks, tips or tricks, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Thanks for reading.
Josh