Introducing H. - How do I get advantage from my data?

Hello,

I am interested in getting to know myself a bit better and I work as a marketing guy for a small US/EU tech startup company, which offers a product that helps huge enterprises deal with their (meta)data. Therefore, I am living in a “data friendly” environment and that, through numerous discussions, has influenced me to think a bit more about what data are collected about me, how is somebody else using them for/against me and, most importantly, how do I get an advantage out of it.

Things I use/have:

• FitBit Alta
  • iPhone SE
  • Swarm
  • usual mix of social media/messaging apps

I would like to learn a bit more about what can I do with the data that are collected about me and what are the other tracking options? I do not know what is possible and I am looking for inspiration. Is there a some sort of “quick start summary”, which will provide me with options, that I can follow further, if they interest me?

Thank you!

H.

You can put the data into google spreadsheets and get the statistics addon and use the describe tool.

1 Like

Hi, could you provide an example of how you structure your google spreadsheet? Also, what do you mean by the ‘describe tool’?

Thanks!

1 Like

Here are my column headers:
Date DOW AM PM mean 7 mu 7mufwd cardio crdo mu weights vit d [IU] fish oil pro glut [0.5g] dairy mtmcl prtn librax nexium clrtn prilo mltnn[mg] wt [lbs] symptoms notes

WRT the describe tool, you have to first get the statistics addon, then you will see the describe tool under the addon’s menu. did you get addon?

1 Like

Hi Honza

Interesting question. It depends on the questions you want to answer about yourself. What are your goals and objectives for the year - and how can this data boost your ability to accomplish them, for example. Where do you want to gain a better understanding about yourself so you can achieve better outcomes?