Quantification at work - Feedbacks?

Hello everyone,

I’m a newbie quantifier (I only track a few basic activities in my daily life thanks to Samsung Health), but I’d like to integrate this quantification in my professional life. Remote working gives me more autonomy, freedom etc., but the problem of procrastination arises sometimes and I think that quantification could help me, what do you think?

I would also like to have your experience feedback on quantification in the professional environment. What made you do it? Did it correspond to your expectations? What are the benefits and limitations of this practice according to you?

Thank you for your answers!

1 Like

I think tracking work is extremely important and I’m a huge fan personally. I’m the cofounder of Rize.io, a personal time tracker for your work that improves focus and builds better work habits. We were built for this case exactly. Tracking my time keeps me accountable and helps me ensure my expectations are meeting my reality. Rize in particular shows me what apps and websites are distracting me the most. The benefits are huge in that you understand where you’re spending your time, hold yourself accountable, know what’s distracting you, and can avoid burnout or overworking.

There are definitely limitations of tracking too. It’s never going to be perfect and you can become obsessed with the data rather than the outcome. Just as you track your steps or calories burnt to stay healthy, not just to rack up the numbers, you need to always remember why you’re tracking your work. It’s not just to put up number but to make sure you’re being productive and staying on course.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your reply! Indeed, as you present it, the usefulness of this practice seems obvious. Especially when you are aware of the limitations you mention. I will look into your application further, thank you.

1 Like