Quantified Dreams

Hello!

I’ve been exploring lucid dreaming for about 8 months now and steadily kept a dream journal. The amount of dreams I remember did increase over the last months. However lucid dreams seem to be hard to come by for me. So far I’ve only had 2 which I could remember the next morning.

I wonder if there are any more people exploring this?

I also recently got a Zeo, so sleep phases are being logged as well in combination with my dream journal. :slight_smile:

I’ve been doing a LOT of playing with sleep… mostly so that I could sleep LESS.

So far the BIGGEST win was blackout curtains to sleep in a 100% dark room.

I tried the blue blocker glasses… that didn’t seem to help much.

I take melatonin sometimes so maybe that does it for me…

I also played with removing caffeine from my diet and that REALLY helped.

The Zeo wasn’t helpful to me … anyone want to buy mine? :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ve found the Zeo very useful personally… Gave me a better appreciation of the effects of short sleeping and interruptions on my sleep architecture and helped me to compensate more rationally for the effects of my on-call, 24/7 doctor existence.

And for those with subjective insomnia where sleep hygiene and mind-body techniques don’t work, the Zeo is a good first cut to see what’s going on, short of a full polysomnogram which is expensive and resisted by many people.

As for lucid dreaming, there are a variety of techniques to train yourself to increase the probability of lucidity and dream recall. Don’t have my references to the various books and articles handy; let me know if you need some.

Big fan of blackout curtains and earplugs, if needed. Blue blocker glasses and other fixtures are sometimes helpful in those not able to resist nighttime light exposure. (see lowbluelights.com)