Survey for Master's Thesis

Hi everyone,

I’m new here, so I’ll give a brief introduction to myself first. My name is Tue Dommergaard and I’m studying Digital Design at Aarhus University (Denmark). I’m currently about to get my master’s degree in IT, but first I have to write and submit my master’s thesis in february.

To quote myself from my survey: “My interest is finding out what happens when you track your everyday activities, especially when it comes to exercising. Some people like to use the phrase: “Life is a game!”, but is that becoming a reality? Are we putting up unnessecary rules for ourselves by tracking and monitoring our every move? Are our lives becoming more like videogames - with rules, goals, boundaries and an ultimately competitive nature with self-tracking being the pivot point of our lives?”

I have been reading a lot of theory about videogames and been game designer on a couple of games myself - so my main interest is to look at have self-tracking and videogames might/might not have similarities.

I’m currently tracking my steps, km’s walked and sleep cycle using Fitbit Flex, my diet using MyFitnessPal, my workouts with Fitocracy and my mood with mappiness. So far it’s been a lot of fun and also a learning experience.

I reading a lot of stuff about the subject at the moment and can’t wait to go more into it - very excited.

It would help me a lot if you would take a few minutes to fill out a survey I made.

I will be reading a lot of stuff from the forum the next couple of months and look forward to learn more about self-tracking and the community in general! :slight_smile:

Thank you for taking the time! Can’t wait to read your answers! :slight_smile:

What have you learned?