Why am I so tired all the time?

Introduction

I am a 40-something male with unusual fatigue. I fell asleep during a Metallica concert in college. My 76-year old father sleeps 20 hours per day, and my 11-year old son is also exhibiting unusual fatigue. Doctors have been unable to help. Blood tests have revealed nothing unusual. I drank so much caffeine, I started having heart arrhythmias 40+ times per day.

Out of desperation, I’ve begun to track every conceivable factor in energy production and fatigue that I can find and experiment with them. I am new to QS and eagerly looking forward to learning from the community.

Questioning

Since energy and fatigue is such a huge subject, I’m taking a systems-based approach to the body. From my research, it seems like the body’s energy is derived and/or affected by eight main subsystems:

1. Breath
  2. Sleep
  3. Hydration
  4. Diet
  5. Movement
  6. Mood
  7. Biochemicals
  8. Environment

Each subsystem seems to have stressors (like alcohol) and requirements (like sleep or food).

I’m approaching this project by reading the top books in each area, seeing which sources they reference and reading those, documenting stressors and requirements, trying to eliminate the stressors, trying to build up the requirements, and documenting the results.

Observing

I have been tracking over 30 different factors in the above 8 areas over the past 6 months.

• energy (morning, noon, and night) on a scale of 1-5 (5 being the highest)
  • mood (morning, noon, and night) on a scale of 1-5 (5 being the highest)
  • sleep (total, deep, REM, and Garmin sleep score)
  • calories (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack, total)
  • caffeine (morning, lunch) (after a couple months, I eliminated caffeine in the afternoon)
  • movement (steps, aerobic calories, minutes of anaerobic exercise)
  • water (Morning, noon, and night in ounces)
    …and more

For the full list, I’m keeping the data in a Google spreadsheet here:

Consolidating