Why quantify yourself?

Hi! I’m a social sciences student at Cambridge and am writing an essay on the quantified self, and what we can learn from ourselves and society by tracking our own data.
I was wondering if anyone could give some details on why they track their own data?
Do you do so with an end goal in sight or is it with a vaguer aim of basic self improvement? What do you think this ‘turn’ to data in the digital age means about society? Who and what is gaining from it? Do you ever worry about the data you harvest from yourself falling into the ‘wrong hands’?
Any comments anyone has I would be really interested to hear! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi! One of the reasons that I and many of my peers track our data is to mitigate and combat the gaslighting by medical professionals to our demographics. Women (and minorities), in general, are often undiagnosed and turned away unhelped by medical professionals due to gender (and other) bias.

One way to combat that ongoing issue is to advocate for yourself. Advocating for yourself is much more effective when data logs back you up.

Professionally, the nonprofit I work at was founded by someone who watched his mother go undiagnosed with colo-rectal cancer until it was so apparent (a tumor bulging from her abdomen) that it was undeniable. Her health data (collected by a simple symptom log and vitals tracked via Fitbit) showed well-researched and documented signs of dire health that physicians ignored.

She died. She did not have to die then. So, our nonprofit was kicked off afterward to help people start collecting their data and empower everyone to make more informed decisions for their health.