1-Button Test: "Returning" During Meditation

I’m using a prototype of the 1-Button tracker from Totti Labs to learn about my meditation practice.

Background

I’ve been meditating with some regularity since 1997. For about 7 years, between 2010 and and 2017, I used Robin Barooah’s Equanimity App to track my sessions. I learned a lot from the first few years of data I gathered using this app: for instance, I found out that my average number of days in my “runs” (consecutive days meditating) was 9, and that I went through many periods, especially in mid-summer and mid-winter, where I meditated on only about 1/2 the days in the month. Overall, tracking my meditation helped me be more patient with myself, allowing myself to intentionally reduce the amount of time I planned to meditate each day during periods when I knew it would be difficult.

My new experiment is at a different scale. I’m using a prototype of the 1-Button Tracker* to record the times I consciously direct my attention to my practice when I’m sitting. I’m very curious how often I do this, and also about whether my data will show a change in frequency over a month. I’ll make some more notes about why I chose to measure this and what I’ve learned so far as the days goes go on.

*The 1-Button Tracker is open instrumentation designed by our collaborators at Totti Labs. The goal is to make it easier to reliably and privately record the time of observations. The prototype I’m using has a microcontroller from Adafruit in a 3-D printed case. It’s made by Jakob Eg Larson and Thomas Christianson.

3 Likes