Continuous Glucose Monitoring — The First Four Weeks

Highest glucose levels when stressed!

3 Likes

These are cool results. Thanks for posting.

I noticed you cite chris kesser in your article. What do you make of his work?

@Justin_Lawler - Your Blood Glucose was not affected/ did not vary a lot by food consumption or variation in food consumed and maybe some time later when digested?

I think he’s pretty good - not sure I’m onboard with 100% he says but I think he speeks a lot of truth. Especially with things like cholesterol. I’m not a doctor however - so all I can do is cross-check his facts. But he will always link all statements onto sites like PubMed for everything.

He is, of course, a little heavy on the marketing/affiliate links, which can turn people off.

I’d be a bigger fan of Mark Hyman.

What’s your opinion yourself?

@xbliss Depends on the food. Fast carbs hit the blood in minutes. I took a spoonful of honey once and it spiked from 5.5 -> 8.5 within 15 minutes.

Slow carbs take longer. Also if I’m moving about it can be very stable - but then when I sit down, even 2 hours later, it can spike then.

Gonna dig in deeper in a food post later.

1 Like

@Justin_Lawler I recall his yelp reviews were pretty bad when I checked about a year ago. Personally, I think he genuinly wants to help but I find a lot of what he posts to be based on small studies. Its not clear to me that he understands deeply the nature of the papers he cites. I defineitly don’t but the few that I do, I didn’t get that feeling. The problem with these small studies, in my opinion, is that they are very underpowered, the placebo effect is greatly underestimated, and there is possibly a large phenotype bias (which could be placebo effect). Overall, I personally don’t look to the writings to help myself.

I see many folks similar to Mr. Kesser promoting these “alternative” or “pop therepies.” From my view, they all follow a similar pattern: